Reviews



Best experience - Rating 5/5

Dear AndrewThank you so much for every thing while we were staying at your hotel. Your support, help and advise that we were so appreciated. Room was big and clean and cozy.And Nice view from the window! Thank you both of youBest regardsNobu

Reviewer:Nobuhiko W | Sat 8th Feb 2020 | 5 months ago


Excellent stay! - Rating 5/5

Andrew and Alison were really welcoming on our arrival and made us feel at home throughout our stay there! Andrew shared lots of local tips and knowledge that made our experience on the island all the better. Great breakfasts and lovely big rooms with everything you need. Would definitely recommend and stay again next time I’m visiting Islay

Reviewer:Luke A | Sun 26th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago


Weekend away- Rating 5/5

Stayed here once again on 1st November for 2 nights with my son and group of friends had a great time as always, Andrew and Alison are great hosts nothing too much trouble. Great breakfast to start you offfor the day, booked a taxi for the Saturday to take us around the island Jimmy , the driver, was great good banter had a brilliant day. Looking forward to our next visit. All the best Andrew and Alison!

Reviewer:Stuart G | Mon 11th Nov 2019 | 8 months ago


A short but fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one evening during a work trip and if I am honest I wanted to stay longer - but who doesnt when on Islay. I cannot fault the B &B at all - spotless, comfortable and everything you need. Andrew is a fantastic host and hes has put some really nice touches in the B &B of pictures from local artists and photographers with some also available to purchase. The breakfast was fantastic and set my colleague and I up for a very long day ahead, and I am going to say they made the best scrambled egg i've ever had.

Reviewer:Tim R | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 8 months ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

I really satisfy. Perfect hotel.I could take very good services and wisky service evry morning.Also hotel owner is very very kind, and I like him!

Reviewer:Masahiro M | Fri 25th Oct 2019 | 8 months ago


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

We visited For Islay for a couple of nights and found the Bowmore a perfect place to stay. It was very cleanand had everything we wanted. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food and the happily catered for food allergies. The host was extremely helpful in pre booking distillery tours and taxis. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Jackie B | Sat 21st Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay here, thank you Andrew and Alison for your warm welcome, the friendly service you've provided and all the help you've offered.

Reviewer:Agnes M | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was great! Couldn’t be better.

Reviewer:Robert S | Tue 3rd Sep 2019 | 10 months ago


One of our favourites - Rating 5/5

Our experience at Bowmore House was fantastic! We were greeted in the parking lot by our host, Andrew, who gave us a warm and cheery welcome.He has thought of everything to ensure a pleasant stay - from booking our dinner reservations to the wee dram of scotch at breakfast, if you are so inclined. Our room had an amazing ocean view, it was clean, bright and well stocked with all room-related sundries.We will definitely stay at Bowmore House again when back on beautiful Islay.

Reviewer:Lisa M | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Great place to stay in Bowmore! - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at The Bowmore House last week! Great rooms, great breakfast end lovely staff! We will book The Bowmore House on our next Islay trip 

Reviewer:Frode N | Tue 13th Aug 2019 | 11 months ago


Excelent place- Rating 5/5

warm welkomexcelent service

Reviewer:Richard van den H | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 11 months ago


Friendly, great location, clean and bright - Rating 5/5

Nicest of the 5 hotels we stayed in during our 8 days in Scotland! My adult son and I stayed for 2 nights. Everything was freshly painted and spotless, my sea view was lovely, and Andrew and Alison were generous and helpful hosts. Both the cooked breakfast and the bagel packed for our early departure on our last day were delicious. Highly recommended- I would gladly stay there again!

Reviewer:Margaret H K | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

I only have wonderful things to say about the Bowmore house. The views are beautiful. We stayed in the room with the ocean view bay windows and the view is spectacular. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. They had plenty of space. The bathroom was the best of all the hotels I stayed at in the UK. Andrew was super friendly and helpful. He helped us with taxi reservations and booked us a tour guide. When the original tour guide couldn't make it he found us another. He had great dinner recommendations and even booked us a reservation. The breakfast was wonderful. I didn't want to leave. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer. It truly is a beautiful B&B on a beautiful island.

Reviewer:Rachel S | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Awesome accommodation- Rating 5/5

Our stay was absolutely fantastic. This will be the place for our next trip to Islay.Many thanks to Andrew. You are the best.

Reviewer:Henning M | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Fantastic - Felt like home - Rating 5/5

It could not have been better.We had the whole house to ourselves.Right across the street from the ocean and in the heart of Bowmore.Andrew was very attentive and arranged an Island tour for us.Now that is the way to discover an Island. We took the bus to Port Ellen and did the walking Whisky tour.The variety of foods for breakfast or lunch were excellent,

Reviewer:Sharen W | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Excellent B&B, but quite expensive- Rating 5/5

This is a lovely B&B, at a great location. Friendly Horst, and a great breakfast, with a breakfast dram. Beds are good, bathroom well equipped. It is not cheap, but quality comes at a price.

Reviewer:Alex H | Sun 26th May 2019 | 1 year ago


A very nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

My wife, a friend of us and myself stayed here for two days at Gowanbrae. We got such a warm welcome at this cosy place. Everything was lovely prepared and Andrew gave us helpful advice for our activities. We enjoyed our stay very much and it will be definitely be our choice when we come back to Bowmore next time.

Reviewer:Reiner K | Tue 21st May 2019 | 1 year ago


Best B&B on Islay - Rating 5/5

It was our 4th stay at the Bowmore House and we really enjoyed meeting Alison and Andrew again. As always we had great breakfast including a morning whisky. The beds are very comfortable and rooms are large! You have a bathtub and also bathrobes are available to be able to visit the mgtaggart laisure centre. We are looking forward to stay here again!

Reviewer:Daniel & D | Wed 8th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Faultless Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Andrew and family could not have been more accommodating - providing advice, taxi bookings and even the odd dram!Gowanmore was clean, comfortable and well appointed. It was only a 3 minute walk to excellent restaurants (Harbour Inn and Peatzeria) and to the bus stop for the all important bus to the distilleries. Importantly for my 83 year old father this walk is all along the flat with no slopes to contend with.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would heartily recommend.Thanks Andrew !!

Reviewer:Stephen N | Sat 27th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Islaytrip - Rating 5/5

Andrew und Alison waren, wie immer sehr hilfsbereit und zuvorkommend. Man fühlt sich hier sofort wohl und willkommen. Alles sehr gepflegt und sauber! Alles in Allem nur exzellent!

Reviewer:Ralf K | Thu 25th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

We had such a wonderful time in The Bowore House. The room had a great view and a big bathroom with hot bath tub, which we miss so much. Every breakfast we enjoyed delicious scotch meals with bowmore whiskey! What is more about this house, the owner is such a charming nice person, our children really liked him in this short stays.

Reviewer:Azusa Y | Thu 18th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

Apologies for a late review.The warmth of the hosts was amazing andwe felt very welcome at The Bowmore House!Thank you for such a beautiful stay Andrew and Alison!The room was very comfortable and view fantastic. The breakfast super nice.

Reviewer:Praphul S | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Another Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Second time staying here with my son and two friends everything about this place is top notch, great rooms and excellent breakfast that certainly sets you up for the day including a wee dram! Thank you again for your hospitality we’ll be back!

Reviewer:Stuart G | Thu 28th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


First Class - Rating 5/5

Second time staying here with my son and two friends,great stay the hospitality is spot on, rooms spotless and a huge breakfast to start your day with a dram! See you again.

Reviewer:Stuart G | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


The definition of Hospitality- Rating 5/5

My father in law and I were fortunate enough to stay at the Bowmore house as we wondered about the Islay distilleries. First, we were greeted by name. For the tired traveler, this was quite warm and made us immediately feel welcome. The attention to detail also stood out. From the amenities in the rooms to the wonderful personalized breakfast, we were made to feel at home.I will definitely plan on staying again and our only regret was our stay was not long enough.Bravo and tremendous thanks

Reviewer:Jason F | Sat 23rd Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

This was one of our best experiences as road travellers. Andrew welcomed us like family. We loved the House and our room and will for sure stay here next time we visit.Breakfast was delicious. There are also many restaurants and shops in the area.Bus stop very close.A great choice for Islay visitors.

Reviewer:Silvina D | Mon 18th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


The perfect location - Rating 5/5

As close to perfection as you could ask for. Accomodation, breakfasts and local knowledge all first class. A lot of thought has gone into the customers stay.

Reviewer:Logan S | Wed 13th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Perfection.- Rating 5/5

As close to perfection as you could ask for. Accomodation, breakfasts and local knowledge all first class. A lot of thought has gone into the customers stay.

Reviewer:Logan S | Wed 13th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Perfect Stay at a Perfect B&B Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is a well-maintained house with convenient spacious rooms. Andrew is a great host with positive attitude ready to help out with any request. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Artemi O | Fri 23rd Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


アイラの我が家 - Rating 5/5

まるで自宅にいるかのようにくつろげる宿です。部屋は清潔、申し分ない十分な広さ、朝食おいしい、特にサバの燻製、場所はボウモア中心地で移動に便利、オーナー夫妻親切。フェリー乗り場まで行く便があるということで、帰りは乗せて行ってもらった ^_^

Reviewer:Hajime H | Sun 18th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Bowmore House - Rating 5/5

Just returned from another 2 night stay on the Island of Islay and in particular the Bowmore House B&B.I have used this B&B for many years and in particular since Andrew &Alison have been in ownership. I travel extensively round the Scottish Isles as part of my job and there is no friendlier welcome than the one you will experience at the 'Bowmore' The accommodation is first class and caters for all needs. My colleagues and I have probably through the years stayed in each room and the cottages and have never been disappointed. Andrew &Alison can not do enough for any visitor, the 'Bowmore' is my first choice for any trip to Islay.

Reviewer:Gary S | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Great host and craking place to stay.

Reviewer:Stephen D | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Absolutely delightful! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Bowmore House as part of a two week vacation in Scotland. The accommodations were clean, spacious and comfortable. However, what impressed us most was the exemplary attention to detail. Andrew and Alison were the most gracious hosts we have yet to meet in all our travels. We look forward to returning, and highly recommend The Bowmore House for your Islay vacation!

Reviewer:Laura M | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Hospitality at its finest.- Rating 5/5

Our stay at the bowmore house exceeded all expectations. The place itself is cosy and well kept, the breakfast each morning was filling and delicious. And then the hosts Andrew and his wife were amazing. Went above and beyond with helping us book tours and tastings, to making recommendations about where we should go next. Everything they recommend was amazing and 100% would only ever stay at the bowmore house next time in Islay.

Reviewer:Michael M | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Absolutely wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights in the Distillery Room. Room had beautiful views of the sea,harbor and Bowmore Distillery. Room was clean,had a cozy sitting area and bed was super comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom was modern, well-appointed and complimentary toiletry items were local and lovely. Andrew was such a gracious host, always helpful, full of suggestions, happy to make dinner or distillery reservations. The food he and Allison prepared and served was delicious and beautifully presented. Andrew thought of everything to make our stay comfortable, fun and relaxing. When we return to beautiful Islay, we will definitely stay at Bowmore House!

Reviewer:Molly L | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Excellent place to stay on Islay - Rating 5/5

From arrival to departure our stay at the Bowmore House was excellent. Alison and Andrew were super nice and shared the secrets of Islay with us with lots of tips and help. The room and facilities were clean, spacious with a breathtaking view.We had a wonderful time and enjoyed every minute. We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Thomas S | Sat 19th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Perfect- Rating 5/5

LovelyCentralCleanHighest standard

Reviewer:Thomas S | Thu 10th May 2018 | 2 years ago


The best place to stay in Islay - Rating 5/5

Andrew is a absolute gem. He is always helpful and has tons of knowledge regarding distillery tour programs. Definitely I will stay here again.

Reviewer:Taehee R | Tue 1st May 2018 | 2 years ago


A Wonderful Bed and Breakfast! - Rating 5/5

Andrew and Alison are the perfect hosts and we had an absolutely lovely time at their B&B! The accommodations were spotlessly clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and they had some great advice regarding activities on Islay. Thanks so much for contributing to our wonderful holiday!

Reviewer:Janet and Andy K | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Brilliant Place - Rating 5/5

Possibly best ever B &B accomodation I have had. Myself and friend were offered 2 separate rooms for no extra charge. Great, friendly service from Andrew and Alison. Rooms superb with huge bathrooms and superb breakfast. I couldn't ask for anything more. Oh, and the whisky wasn't too bad either on the lovely island of Islay. Go there !

Reviewer:Kenny M | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


Perfect experience- Rating 5/5

In a Sunday, which is only the day I could fully spend in the island, there is limited activity option. However Andrew, the manager of Bowmore House, went extra mile to help me create a very interesting plan. Also the breakfast was awesome... I’d like to recommend this B&B if you want to really enjoy the time in Islay!

Reviewer:Takashi A | Tue 6th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


Bowmore house - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay.Andrew and Alison are accommodating and extremely helpful.

Reviewer:Julia B | Tue 28th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay. You really made this trip memorable!

Reviewer:Jack - Arizona U | Sun 28th May 2017 | 3 years ago


- Rating 5/5

You truly made us feel like part of your family, in your beautiful home. We enjoyed our time on Islay, and with you

Reviewer:Doreen and Rob Milne - Ontario C | Wed 10th May 2017 | 3 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Thank you for a great stay, it was very welcoming from when I stepped in the door. The room was lovely and the breakfast was awesome

Reviewer:Mel Andrews - Auckland New Z | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


- Rating 5/5

It’s been wonderful to stay at your B&B, you are the most lovely hosts and you have received us with such warmth and generosity. Thank you!

Reviewer:Corinne and Ola Bonder - S | Sun 26th Feb 2017 | 3 years ago